Big Little Lies – Liane Moriarty [#11]

image

[NO SPOILERS]

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ out of 5 STARS

Book Synopsis: Lies, Scandal, Murder… In the playground.

Pirriwee Public’s annual school Trivia Night has ended in a shocking riot. A parent is dead. Was it a tragic accident… or something else entirely?

My Thoughts:

OMFG this book was so amazing that I stayed up until 4 am today (ON A SCHOOL NIGHT 😂) just to finish the book.

I picked this book up solely because of the “murder mystery” aspect or else I wouldn’t have been interested at all. I am glad to say that I made an excellent choice because this book is like gold for me 💛.

I’m actually stuck on what genre this is but I’m guessing it’s an adult novel (correct me if I’m wrong – UPDATE, hi it’s 2018 Helen. The novel genre should be thriller/mystery). I was scared that I wouldn’t like the characters cause they were parents but OMG I loved them so much and I became addicted to seeing them appear in the chapters.

Because the victim isn’t revealed until the very end, I was so scared that one of my favourite, loveable characters was going to die. The “killer/murderer” was also very unexpected. I had to restrain myself from flipping to the end of the book to see what the hell was going on but I stopped myself in time AHAHA 😂.

There’s some really deep and dark moments in the book. Big Little Lies explores childhood bullying, abusive relationships (this one though…😞) and the many mistakes you make in life. There’s this one scene at the end when a certain character says some certain words that actually made me cry. I wasn’t expecting it and even though I never had to go through it, it was really touching and got to you. (The end of chapter 76 and the end of chapter 80)

Surprisingly, I enjoyed the multiple point of views format in this story. It was nice and literally I didn’t hate any of them 😊.

It is definitely so refreshing to see books set in modern day Australia. I am always so happy whenever Liane Moriarty (HAS ANYONE WATCHED SHERLOCK HOLMES? YOU GUYS KNOW MORIARTY? I love that name HAHA 😄😂😄😂) mentions places like Sydney and the Habour and Melbourne. I’m just sitting there, nodding my head like “Yehhh I know where this is. Ohhh yes that place is so like that,” 😄.

Also, because Liane Moriarty is an Australian author, she wrote “mum” instead of “mom” and that, just I don’t know, I like it a lot HAHAHAHA (Jesus I am weird).

There is so much Australian pride when I read this book and when I found out that many people also thought it was amazing. I’m like “ME TOO ME TOO!!!!!” on Goodreads.

Liane did such a marvelous job with Big Little Lies. I’m so happy for her because the book is getting adapted into a TV show starring, Nicole Kidman, Reese Witherspoon and Shailene Woodley. They have already started filming (YAY!) Can’t wait to see it 😍.

Liane is now one of my favourite authors and I’m hyped to read her other books. I have What Alice Forgot up next, ready to be consumed next month. I should have read this book at the end because now I AM SO HUNGOVER from the book that all of my fantasy novels are very dangerously on the edge of the cliff (meaning I don’t want to read fantasy right now BUT I GOT TO FRIGGIN SAVE WHAT ALICE FORGOT FOR NEXT MONTH OMG THIS IS SO SAD 😭😭).

UPDATE 11th June 2016: F**k next month, I’m going to read What Alice Forgot now 😎

❤️💛 Recommend 100%!

P.S. I thought the ending was done really well and I loved it!

-Helen xx

One thought on “Big Little Lies – Liane Moriarty [#11]

Leave a comment